Minutes of the LFS Annual Membership Meeting 9-13-2001

The annual membership meeting of the Laramie Film Society was held September 13, 2001 in the County Courtroom of the Albany County Courthouse.

The meeting was called to order at 7:40 p.m. by LFS president Robert Roten. A moment of silence was observed for the thousands of victims in the terrorist attacks of September 11 in New York, Washington and Pennsylvania.

Casey Wood gave a treasurer's report. Wood said his figures show $1,819.52, while a recent bank statement shows $1,768.21.

Roten read the following statement about the recent changes in management of the Wyo Theatre. "Changes are under way at the Wyo Theatre, again. The current management team of Wyoming Movie Palaces-Bayou, Inc. are out (as of May 18) and Trans-Lux is back in. Reportedly, there was conflict between Trans-Lux and the Wyo management."

"Marshall Smith of Rocky Mountain Resort Cinemas, owner of the Wyo, has bought the improvements made to the Wyo by Robert Berger of Bijou Inc. and his Movie Palaces partners. Trans-Lux will operate the theater, but Smith himself will be doing all the film bookings. Smith told me he plans to continue with the spring and fall film series as he did in the past when he operated the Wyo. He is also in talks with the local parent-teachers organizations and the city to try to start a summer kids film series in Laramie."

"Smith said he would like suggestions for films to be shown in the fall film series. Tentative titles include, "Amores Perros," "Memento" and "The Tailor of Panama."

Roten added that the theater might close again since the current arrangement to operate the theater may not be permanent.

Lynn Hamblin volunteered to be the new LFS board secretary, replacing Diana Kopulos, who resigned. The vote to make Hamblin secretary was unanimous.

There was a discussion about the need to revise the LFS bylaws and articles of incorporation to reflect the new mission of LFS. The old mission was to acquire the Wyo Theatre, but since the theater is open again, the mission is changing more toward promoting quality films in Laramie.

There was also a discussion to resume work on applying for 501(c)(3) status from the Internal Revenue Service.

Casey Wood made a motion to set October 1 as the deadline by which to approve the revised LFS articles of incorporation and bylaws. The motion was passed unanimously. The articles of incorporation and bylaw changes are to be adopted prior to applying for 501(c)(3) status. Those present also unanimously agreed to apply for tax-exempt status from the IRS.

Board member Pam Dillinger moved to change the official address of LFS from P.O. Box 6309, Laramie to Robert Roten's address of 3019 Pope Springs Road, Laramie because of the high cost of maintaining the post office box and the inconvenient location and limited operating hours of the Aspen Square Post Office. The motion was unanimously approved.

LFS member Burton Muller moved to retain the current LFS board for another two years. The vote was unanimous to retain the board. The board was as follows, Robert Roten, President, Lynn Hamblin, secretary, Casey Wood, treasurer, Pam Dillinger, operations committee chairman, Ali Grossman, publicity and public relations, and J.P. Cavigelli, programming committee chairman. LFS member Henry Laskowsky volunteered to serve on the board in the event another vote is needed to break a tie.

Wood moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Muller. The motion was approved unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 8:40.

Return to the Laramie Film Society Home Page